Our Mission

APOG provides leadership to advance OB/GYN education and investigation and improve reproductive health for Canadian women through:

  • Advocating for effective academic teaching;
  • Integrating and translating research education to clinical practice;
  • Serving as a resource and providing quality services to members; and
  • Engaging in strategic alliances.


The Association of Academic Professionals in Obstetrics and Gynaecology (formerly known as The Association of Professors of Obstetrics & Gynaecology of Canada) began with informal meetings of university department heads of obstetrics and gynaecology in the late 60's. These meetings led to an agreement to consider the formation of a continuing forum for an expanded group of academic leaders to consider common problems. A planning meeting was held in 1971 and the first formal APOG meeting followed in 1972. Federal incorporation and the first statement of constitution and bylaws were in 1975.

APOG currently brings together professors of obstetrics and gynaecology from the sixteen Canadian universities involved in both pre and post-doctoral education and continuous medical education. Through its annual meeting, mid-year meeting and committee structure, it provides a forum for communication and discussion, collaboration, problem-solving, and policy development. APOG is also committed to enhancing the individual growth and development of its members. At its annual meeting, APOG also holds a poster session offering members of the departments an opportunity to present work done on education-related research for discussion with colleagues.

APOG's six standing committees are: Departmental Chairs Committee, Postgraduate Committee, Undergraduate Committee, Research Committee, Subspecialty Committee, and the Education and Innovation Committee. The Undergraduate and Postgraduate Committees are composed of representation from the respective medical school programs, and are charged with the maintenance and improvement of those programs. The Research Committee is similarly constructed and is primarily involved with encouraging and facilitating faculty and resident involvement in research and related scholarly activities. The Subspecialty Committee consists of one representative from each fellowship program at each university and deals with issues relating to the fellowship programs. The Education & Innovation Committee is composed of up to 8 OBGYN academic professionals from each region and serves as a national resource for academic professionals in Obstetrics and Gynaecology for the sharing, development, content review, and evaluation of undergraduate, postgraduate , and interprofessional education and research training curricula as directed by the Board.

APOG's national secretariat was established in Ottawa in July 2000. The association is currently striving to increase its funding base through innovative partnership with industry. Research awards are also available.

Membership in APOG is open to all academic professionals, residents, and students who are involved with education and / or research in women's health at an educational institution or designated facility.